Epiphany

As of late I have felt a measure of, how do I put it, annoyance….. frustration? No both of those words have too much emotion, maybe irritation? Nope. Vexed, no I haven’t been vexed. Blast, the fight for “precise language”!

Bother. Yeah ok. So as of late I have been found in a repeat situation that leaves me slightly bothered.  First the background; over the past 6 months many, I mean maybe most, of my girlfriends have either gotten engaged or entered into a dating relationship. Now hold up I’m not bitter, I LOVE that! THAT is not what has bothered me. In the midst of the excitement and the changes I have thoroughly enjoyed dialoging, processing and talking through the details of what is changing in their lives, but as time has continued (as it does) the common trend is that nearly every time I talk with these friends the topic conversation has hardly changed.

Chalk it up to being naive on love, I’m ok with that, but I find myself tuning out conversations. Not out of a lack of caring about what is happening in their lives but out of a desire to talk about SOMETHING besides ONLY their significant other. Surely there is something else to talk about….. shouldn’t there be something else to talk about? Again, for the sake of clarity this is a small point, merely a bother, and I am extremely happy for the love that is blooming in the hearts of my friends.

However this line of thinking led me to an Epiphany today (thank you Holy Spirit) and it’s a simply one. People love to talk about the object of their affections.

The scenario lies in this: you feel that your heart has become disconnected from God. You want to know what He cares about, to know the “burdens of His heart”, to be His friend and to feel things about them, you want to hear Him speak but seem to not be hearing His voice.

The Epiphany: Ask Him about the one that His heart loves. The exclamation point: He has much to say about Jerusalem and many emotions towards Israel.

On a journey to become a friend of God, somehow I have never given more than a passing glance to the apple of His eye. How is that possible? Ever longing to dive deeper into His heart I am taking the Bible and am going to read through every mention of Jerusalem, asking simple questions, “what do You feel about Israel, what do You feel about Jerusalem. What do You think about them, what do You think about the Jews?” and see what He has to say. We’ll see just how deep I can go.

Care to read today’s story of power? Joshua 10 – read the whole thing for yourself and see if you don’t feel something. Here’s one of the punch lines

On the day the Lord gave the Amorites over to Israel, Joshua said to the Lord in the presence of Israel: “O sun, stand still over Gibeon, O moon, over the Valley of Aijalon.” So the sun stood still, and the moon stopped, till the nation avenged itself on its enemies, as it is written in the Book of Jashar. The sun stopped in the middle of the sky and delayed going down about a full day. There has never been a day like it before or since, a day when the Lord listened to man. Surely the Lord was fighting for Israel.


Leave a comment