The Most Beautiful Smile

Today I’m thankful for the wonders of technology. That’s saying something, because a handful of years ago I tried to forbid electronics from my home. Seriously. My sister went through quite the battle to bring her TV into the house when she moved from Arizona. We’re all thankful that phase is over.

But today I sat in a little prayer room in DC with the IHOP-KC webstream on the big screen in the corner as my friends led the prayer meeting praying for a Revival in the teens of that city. From half-way across the country I could enter into the same prayer meeting, see their faces & hear their voices & sing the choruses & cry & pray for the teens who hold my heart. And I was really thankful for that big screen, & for live webstreaming.

This afternoon I received a text message from a friend who has been ministering in South Africa. She’s been out of the country for almost 3 weeks & I have deeply felt her absence in my life. Though I can’t see her & the distance between us is still, well about 1,066 miles……exactly……. knowing that I could call or message her was a huge relief to my heart. And I was thankful for the glory of cellular telephones, & for text messaging.

Tonight I had a skype date with my Daddy. While sitting in my office I could look into his face & grieve with him. He unpluggled the computer, walked across the room & there in the bed was my sweet Grandpa. I was able to talk to him & tell him I loved him & look into his gentle face. The constant pain medicine is keeping him almost completely unresponsive, but I broke through.

It was unbelievable. I can charm my way through almost any situation but tonight was the first time I’ve charmed my way through medicated stupor. He lay still, breathing heavily. The family said he could hear but for all I could see I was pouring my heart out to a sleeping old man, until the ‘conversation’ ended,

‘Grandpa you have the most beautiful smile in the whole world’

& everyone in the room began to laugh as a gentle smile spread across his face. What a miracle, that I could share that moment with them from so far away.  And I’m really thankful for laptop computers & for skype. And really thankful for the faithfulness of the Lord & His constant kindness to us.

2 thoughts on “The Most Beautiful Smile

Leave a Reply

