March 5th, 2012

Ten o’clock in the morning and 37 degrees in Kansas City Missouri. The 4 Bohlender Girls have been up since 6.30am. Actually, they’ve been up since 6, I thought I could get them back to sleep until 7 but by 6.30 I gave up & all 4 tumbled out of bed & sleepily down the stairs where I dropped on the couch & they piled on top of me to watch the sun rise. It was a sweet morning, but soon gave way to the crazy that is a 5 year old, twin 3 year olds & a 2 year old.

By 10, and at 37 degrees Grandma & I bundled them up and sent them outside to run off “the grumpies”. I sit in my coat, curled up with a blanket & mug of tea watching my precious little sisters run and play, and breathe gratitude. February was 29 days of battling grief. By the afternoon of Monday the 27th I whispered a desperate prayer for adventure to pull me out. I’m so glad the Lord always takes me seriously. Within hours a message came from the Bohlenders that the adoption of their twin girls –  twin siblings may actually go through, asking if I could come to Kansas City and help with their little ones while they stayed in Florida to receive the new babies. Insert Chaos, bizarre situations, stress & 6.30 Friday morning, after an incredibly eventful drive to the airport…….and I was going home. Filled with smiles though sleepless, and filled with Joy. Knowing that my sister would was waiting with tears and welcoming arms. Knowing that 5 days of sleepless nights & long days awaited me. Knowing that a city of people who love me awaited me. Knowing that an all too brief visit from my beloved parents awaited me.

Filled, with Joy.

And that’s all I’ve been able to think about since I’ve arrived. That is the very way we are to live every situation, every season. As the Redeemed, those who’ve been brought from death into a living hope, that our portion is to Live. Live Filled. Filled with Joy. And One Thousand Gifts

Leave a Reply

