A time for purpose

To every season there is a reason and a time to every purpose under heaven. A time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to pluck up that which is planted. A time to kill and a time to heal, a time to break down and a time to build up. A time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance. A time to cast away stones and a time to gather stones together. A time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing. A time to get and a time to lose, a time to keep and a time to cast away. A time to rend and a time to sew, a time to keep silence and a time to speak.  A time to love and a time to hate, a time of war and a time of peace.

What do workers gain from their toil? I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in it’s time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3.1-11

There is a time for every purpose under heaven. Though I could not see all that the past two years in Virginia would bring; how each season would suddenly change bearing new trial and testing in it’s wake, I have found peace here. Through Eucharisteo, the giving of thanks for each season and the gifts that it brings, through swallowing the death and breathing the life I have found peace in believing that there is a time, and a season, and a purpose for every part of my story.

There is a time, and an ending set for each trial. Even the current trials which wring my heart – the wounding of friends without clarity or reconciliation as well as the “unknowns” that lay about me, I lay down in peace knowing that there is an ending time that is set. A ticking clock bringing me freedom and newness and hope.

Hope. One of the rarest things found in the earth. Hope grows wild only in the undefiled heart of a child. After that, Hope only grows intentionally where we plant, labor and ferociously  tend to it. Hope grows in the raw places where we’ve learned to trust the Lord with our woundings;  not to bury them deep in hopes of keeping them hidden, but where we lay them bare. Where we give to Him all that we bare.

As a little girl I suffered from terrible, persistent nightmares. So my parents would play cassette tapes of soothing music to help me sleep. My favorite was an album called ‘Daddy’s Song’ by Dennis Jernigan. There were many songs about sheep and the Shepherd, and I would sleep to his soothing voice singing “My sheep hear my voice and they know it, and they follow Me.” And here I am at 26, leaning, yearning, as a deer after water to hear the voice of the Shepherd and to know His leading. “My heart and my flesh cry out for the Living God” (Psalm 84.2)

The 2012 President Election, the event that marked my understanding of my time on the East Coast, has come and gone, leaving me with out a clue of what the next season of my life is to look like, or where it is to be. And though at peace, I have no clarity of the next step. I appreciate your prayers as I seek the Lord in this season, to know His heart, His mind, and His will for me.

I have seen incredible breakthrough in my own heart and life in God over the last 4 months as I have come into greater surrender to His will in the in and out of daily life. Thanksgiving and surrender, thanksgiving and surrender, “Green and Tender”.

In the next four weeks I need to buy a car ( which though I’ve worked like a maniac I do NOT by any means, have enough saved to do so), have clarity on the next year and somewhat of a plan to walk it out, and last but not least, I have to get to the Midwest for Christmas 🙂 OH  THE GLORY!!! With so much unknown in between now and then, I KNOW that I will be HOME in four weeks, HOME for Christmas!!!

And I am thankful for the road behind, for the gifts, the graces, and the lessons of the seasons, and for the road before. A road of peace and hope, even in the unknown.

2 thoughts on “A time for purpose

Leave a Reply

